The five-country Transboundary Biosphere Reserve Mura-Drava-Danube connects protected areas from the Mura along the Austrian-Slovenian border via the Drava through Croatia and Hungary to the Danube in Serbia.

Along this chain of protected areas, various projects focusing on different topics (nature conservation, education, visitor guidance and tourism, etc.) are currently being implemented – in one or more countries along the three rivers.

Within the Interreg project coopMDD, representatives of protected area administrations of all five countries started to work together in 2017 on common goals and actions for the shared river corridor. A basis for further cooperation and for managing a future five-country biosphere reserve was established.

Related Posts

The Mura Drava Danube BR